TortoiseHg – still needs work

I’m a big fan of version control. My preference is SVN. I’ve known for a long time about the benefits of distributed version control . Recently, I introduced my brother to the joy of version control. I setup a SVN server on my desktop (Win 7 RC) and he used his laptop (Vista SP2) to connect to it.

The first day, things went fine. The trouble began after that. A problem with this setup is that we need our desktop ON to perform any real work. So, I decided to check-out Mercurial . I can get along just fine with bash or the command prompt, but for my brother, that’s a serious put-off. “Not a problem”, I said to myself. I mean, there is TortoiseHg, correct? (version 0.8.0 at this time)
I installed it and I really liked what I saw. A nice easy-to-setup way to handle revision control !! It was tricky, but for the most part I found that I could follow the selenic tutorial just fine. That was until I came across the conflict part.
I just CANNOT find a comfortable way to resolve conflicts using TortoiseHg!! The closest I found was to just merge from only 1 parent, but it seems that I lose the changes from the other parent then.
In this situation, TortoiseSVN is MUST better. It creates 4 files, ORIGINAL (with markers), ORIGINAL.mine (local changes) , ORIGINAL.oldrevision and ORIGINAL.latestrevision. At this point, its just a matter for me to update to the latest version and compare with these files to see how to merge my changes.
But TortoiseHg does not seem that easy. I keep getting this error message saying “not resolved, please run hg resolve” (or something similar). And this is the problem. Using the GUI tool, I cannot seem to resolve my conflict.
I really like the rest of the way TortoiseHg handles things, especially the changelog. It’s great. But for me this conflict issue is the real downer. Hopefully, the matter will get fixed in a later release. Until then, I’m either going to continue with SVN or look for another distributed version control system.
